home   about us   contact
The International Society for the Study of Narrative


The International Society for the Study of Narrative (ISSN) is a nonprofit association of scholars dedicated to the investigation of narrative, its elements, techniques, and forms; its relations to other modes of discourse; its power and influence in cultures past and present.

"Narrative" for us is a category that may include the novel, epic poetry, history, biography, autobiography, film, the graphic arts, music, performance, legal writing, medical case histories, and more.

The Society sponsors the International Conference on Narrative each year. The first conference was held at Ohio State University in 1986, and in subsequent years, the meeting has been held at sites across the United States, Canada, and Europe. At each conference, approximately 350 speakers address issues of narrative from a variety of positions and perspectives.

Executive Committee

  • President:
    Susan Lanser, Brandeis University
  • First Vice President:
    Brian McHale, The Ohio State University
  • Second Vice President:
    Jan Alber, University of Freiburg
  • Past President:
    Richard Walsh, York University
  • Secretary-Treasurer; Editor, Narrative:
    Jim Phelan, The Ohio State University
  • Conference Liaison:
    Alan Nadel, University of Kentucky
  • Electronic Communications Coordinator:
    Edward Maloney, Georgetown University

Executive Council

  • Frederick Luis Aldama, The Ohio State University, 2013-2015
  • Liesbeth Korthals Altes, University of Groningen, the Netherlands, 2013-2015
  • Paul Wake, Manchester Metropolitan University, 2014-2016
  • Kay Young, UC, Santa Barbara and the Institute of Contemporary Psychoanalysis, 2014-2016
  • Amy J. Elias, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, 2015-2017
  • Sue J. Kim, University of Massachusetts, Lowell, 2015-2017
Hosted by CNDLS @ Georgetown University | The Ohio State University Press | blog