Archive for February, 2015

2016 Perkins Prize Nominations

Wednesday, February 4th, 2015

Established in 1994, the Perkins Prize honors Barbara Perkins and George Perkins, the founders of both The Journal of Narrative Technique and the Society itself. The prize, awarded to the book making the most significant contribution to the study of narrative in a given year, consists of $1,000 plus a contribution of $500 toward expenses for the winning author to attend the Narrative Conference where the award will be presented. 

The Perkins Prize is conceived as a book prize rather than an author prize. Thus all books on the topic of narrative, whether edited collections, collaboratively written books, or monographs, are eligible to compete. If an edited collection or collaboratively written book is selected, the prize goes to the editor(s) or the collaborators. The winner of the competition for books published in 2014 will be announced at the Austin MLA Convention in 2016, and the prize will be presented at the Narrative Conference in Amsterdam in June 2016. 

To nominate books with a copyright date of 2014, please send an email with “Perkins Prize” in the subject line to the Chair of the judging committee: Richard Walsh <>. Publisher, third-party, and self-nominations are appropriate. Please indicate in the email whether the publisher, the author, or the Chair of the judging committee is to be responsible for ensuring that books are sent to the judges. Copies of books must be sent to each of the three judges.The deadline for nominations and for receipt of books by the judges is June 1, 2015

Books should be sent by authors or their publishers directly to each of the three members of the judging committee: 

Richard Walsh
Dept. of English & Related Literature
University of York
York YO10 5DD

Henrik Skov Nielsen
Centre for Fictionality Studies
Institut for Æstetik og Kommunikation
Aarhus Universitet
Jens Chr. Skous Vej 7
Bygn. 1485 / lokale 318
8000 Århus C

Robyn Warhol
36 Larch Rd.
South Burlington VT  05403