Archive for May, 2010

2011 Perkins Prize Committee Now Accepting Nominations

Monday, May 10th, 2010

For books published in 2009, please send inquiries or informal, brief written nominations to the Chair of the judging committee, Professor Walton:  Please send a copy of the nominated book to each of the Committee members at the addresses listed below.  Publisher, third party, and self-nominations are appropriate.  Deadline for nominations is June 1, 2010.  The winner will be announced at the MLA Convention in December, and the prize presented at the Narrative Conference in St. Louis next April.  The prize, awarded to the book making the most significant contribution to the study of narrative in a given year, consists of $1,000 plus a contribution of $500 toward expenses for the winning author to attend the Narrative Conference where the award will be presented.

Professor Priscilla Walton
Department of English
Carleton University
1125 Colonel By Drive
Ottowa, ON
K1S 5B6

Professor Margaret Homans
Department of English
Yale University
New Haven, CT 06511

Professor Carol Colatrella
Department of Literature, Communication & Culture
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, Georgia, 30332