Archive for January, 2009

Call for Nominations: 2010 Barbara Perkins & George Perkins Award

Monday, January 5th, 2009

The Perkins Prize for books published in 2008 will be judged by: Professor Margaret Homans / Yale University WGSS / Box 208319 Yale Station / New Haven CT 06520-8319; Professor Jesse Matz / Department of English / Kenyon College / Gambier, OH 43022; and Professor Gerald Prince / 521 Williams Hall / University of Pennsylvania / Philadelphia, PA 19104-6305. Please send inquiries or informal, brief written nominations to the Chair of the judging committee, Professor Margaret Homans, Please send a copy of the nominated book to each of the Committee members at the above addresses.

Publisher, third party, and self-nominations are appropriate. Nominations should be submitted as soon as possible. The committee begins its deliberations in the spring; nominations received after June 1 will be at a disadvantage.

The winner will announced at the MLA Convention in December 2009, and the prize presented at the annual Narrative Conference the following spring. The prize, awarded to the book making the most significant contribution to the study of narrative in a given year, consists of $1,000 plus a contribution of $500 toward expenses for the winning author to attend the Narrative Conference where the award will be presented.