Announcing the winners of the 2020 ISSN Elections for Executive Council

It gives me great pleasure to announce the winners of the 2020 ISSN Elections for Executive Council. Our ISSN ballot was populated by an extraordinary, talented, dedicated group of narrative scholars, and from that group these winners emerged:


Second Vice President:

Paul Dawson, University of New South Wales 


Executive Council members:

Alice Bell, Sheffield Hallam University

Marta Figlerowicz, Yale University


Many thanks to our other candidates: Jesse Matz (Kenyon College), Stefan Iversen (Aarhus University), and Pedro Ponce (St. Lawrence University), whose willingness to stand for election is a great sign of the strength of the Society.  Special thanks to this year’s Nominating Committee: Lindsay Holmgren (McGill), chair;  Jan Alber (RWTH Aachen University); Dorothy Hale (Berkeley),  and Robyn Warhol (The Ohio State University), for bringing this outstanding slate of candidates before us.


Please join me in congratulating Paul, Alice, and Marta!



Jim Phelan, Distinguished University Professor and Editor of Narrative