Call for nominations: 2021 Perkins Prize for books published in 2019

2021 Perkins Prize Nominations

Established in 1994, the Perkins Prize honors Barbara Perkins and George Perkins, the founders of both The Journal of Narrative Technique and the Society itself. The prize, awarded to the book making the most significant contribution to the study of narrative in a given year, provides $1,000 plus a contribution of $500 toward the winning author’s expenses for attending the Narrative Conference at which the award will be presented.

The Perkins Prize is conceived as a book prize rather than an author prize. All books on the topic of narrative, whether edited collections, collaboratively written books, or monographs, are eligible to compete. If an edited collection or collaboratively written book is selected, the prize goes to the editor(s) or the collaborators. The winner of the competition for books published in 2019 will be announced at the MLA Convention in Toronto in January 2021, and the prize will be presented at the 2021 International Conference on Narrative in Chichester.

To nominate books with a copyright date of 2019, please send an email with “Perkins Prize” in the subject line to the chair of the judging committee, Maria Mäkelä: Publisher, third-party, and self-nominations are all appropriate. Copies of books must be sent directly to each of the three judges. Please indicate in the nominating email whether the publisher or the author will send the books.

The deadline for receipt of books by the judges is July 1, 2020.

Books should be sent by authors or their publishers directly to each of the three committee members:


Maria Mäkelä

Faculty of Social Sciences

FI-33014 Tampere Finland


Catherine Belling

Medical Humanities & Bioethics

Arthur J. Rubloff Building

420 E. Superior St., 6th Floor

Chicago, IL 60611 U.S.A.


Kent Puckett

1248 Yale Avenue

Claremont, CA 91711 U.S.A.