Announcing the Perkins Prize for Books Published in 2017

Each year, the International Society for the Study of Narrative recognizes a book or books that have made the most significant contribution to the study of narrative. It is my great pleasure, as chair of this year’s Perkins Prize committee, to announce the awards for books published in 2017.

The 2017 Perkins Prize is awarded to The Principles and Practice of Narrative Medicine, co-authored by Rita Charon, Sayantani DasGupta, Nellie Hermann, Craig Irvine, Eric R. Marcus, Edgar Rivera Colón, Danielle Spencer, and Maura Spiegel, and published by Oxford University Press.

Honorable mention for the 2017 Perkins Prize is awarded to Permissible Narratives: The Promise of Latino/a Literature, written by Christopher González and published by the Ohio State University Press.

The Perkins Prize was established in honor of the “contributions of Barbara Perkins and George Perkins to the development and success of the Society, including the founding of both The Journal of Narrative Technique and the Society itself.” Citations for both books will be read during the Awards Luncheon at the 2019 Narrative conference in Pamplona.

Committee members Marco Caracciolo and Erin James join me in congratulating Rita Charon, her co-authors, and Chris González for their outstanding achievements. I also extend my hearty thanks to Marco and Erin for their intensive engagement with the large number of excellent books submitted for this year’s award and for their thoughtful and collegial deliberations.

Congrats again!


Sue Lanser