Inviting Submissions for the 2019 Perkins Prize

Established in 1994, the Perkins Prize honors Barbara Perkins and George Perkins, the founders of both The Journal of Narrative Technique and the Society itself. The prize, awarded to the book making the most significant contribution to the study of narrative in a given year, provides $1,000 plus a contribution of $500 toward the winning author’s expenses for attending the Narrative Conference at which the award will be presented.

The Perkins Prize is conceived as a book prize rather than an author prize. All books on the topic of narrative, whether edited collections, collaboratively written books, or monographs, are eligible to compete. If an edited collection or collaboratively written book is selected, the prize goes to the editor(s) or the collaborators. The winner of the competition for books published in 2017 will be announced at the MLA Convention in Chicago in January 2019, and the prize will be presented in June 2019 at the Narrative Conference in Pamplona, Spain.

To nominate books with a copyright date of 2017, please send an email with “Perkins Prize” in the subject line to the chair of the judging committee, Sue Lanser:

Publisher, third-party, and self-nominations are all appropriate.  Copies of books must be sent directly to each of the three judges. Please indicate in the nominating email whether the publisher or the author will send the books. The deadline for receipt of books by the judges is June 1, 2018.

Books should be sent by authors or their publishers directly to each of the three committee members:

Susan S. Lanser
Department of English
MS 023
Brandeis University
Waltham MA 02454-9110

Marco Caracciolo
Department of Literary Studies
Ghent University
Blandijnberg 2
9000 Ghent

Erin James
Department of English
University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Dr. MS 1102
Moscow, ID 83844-1102