ISSN Winter 2009 Newsletter

Wayne C. Booth Lifetime Achievement Award

The Society will present the 2009 Booth Award to Gérard Genette at the annual conference, held in Birmingham this June.  The festivities will include a panel devoted to Genette’s work featuring papers by Seymour Chatman (UC Berkeley), John Pier (Université  de Tours), and Gerald Prince (University of Pennsylvania) as well as the official presentation of the Award at the business lunch on June 6th. (For more information on the Birmingham Conference, see below).

Perkins Prize:

The winner of the 2009 Perkins Prize for best book on narrative studies published in 2007 is Sharon Marcus for Between Women: Friendship, Desire, and Marriage in Victorian England (Princeton University Press).  The Society thanks the selection committee, Gerald Prince, chair, Eileen Gillooly (Columbia) and Dorothy Hale (UC Berkeley).

New Officers

The membership elected the following new officers this fall.

Second Vice-President: Brian Richardson, University of Maryland

Council members:

  • Sheila Teahan, Michigan State University
  • Susan Lanser, Brandeis University

The Society expresses its warm gratitude to those members of the Executive Council whose terms ended on December 31st:

Past President: Gerald Prince, University of Pennsylvania

Council members:

  • Beth Boehm University of Louisville
  • Jesse Matz, Kenyon College

Nominations Committee

Suzanne Keen of Washington and Lee University and first Vice-President of ISSN will chair this year’s nominations committee.  The other committee members are H. Porter Abbot (UC Santa Barbara) and Clkaudia Breger (Indiana University). If you would like to nominate someone to serve on the Executive Council, please get in touch with Suzanne at

Panels for the 2009 MLA in Philadelphia

The Society will sponsor two panels, and organizers of each are currently accepting paper proposals.

"Narrative and Evolution," organized by Tony Jackson of UNC-Charlotte  and Nancy Easterlin, University of New Orleans <>

"Postmodern and Unnatural Narratives," Jan Alber, University of Freiburg <>

Future Conferences

We are set for Birmingham, England, June 4-6 this year. The conference coordinators are Dick Ellis and Deborah Parsons, and they are being assisted by Anna Hartnell and Anna Burrels, all of the University of Birmingham.  Plenary speakers will be Frank Ankersmit, David Lodge, and Frances Smith Foster. For more information about the conference go to

The 2010 conference will be in Cleveland from April 8-11. Kurt Koenigsberger and Gary Stonum of Case Western University are the conference coordinators.

The 2011 conference  will be in St. Louis from April 7-10.  Emma Kafalenos and Erin McGlothlin of Washington University are the conference coordinators.

If any member is interested in bringing the conference to his or her institution, please get in touch with Alan Nadel or Jim Phelan <>


Autumn 2009 will be a special issue, guest-edited by Rebecca Stern of the University of South Carolina, on Temporality. 

The journal and the Ohio State University Press have reached an agreement with a Press in China to publish selected essays in translation as an annual.  The first volume is scheduled to appear within a few months.